Canadian shooters being harased at boarder

GerryM

I'm ashamed at our policy at the boarder. American boarder agents are giveing Canadian shooters a very hard time entering the US,
Heres the Email I received from Paul Burns

You may recall that I had some issues crossing the boarder last year.
Well it continued this year too. The paranoid boarder bullies seem to like keeping me confined
for a couple of hours, and treat me with rudeness and disrespect. My paperwork is always in
complete orderbut it seems to not matter at all.
Well its OVER" I will no longer tolerate thhis bad behaviour. My competeing days in the USA
Are ended. So, I will not be at this years match at Camillus.
I have been competeing in your country for over 35 years, and my first benchrest match
was at Camillus, so it's with great sadness thats its over''
I want to thank you and {all of the volunteers} for putting on the matchs .
It's a ton of work and very much appreciated.
Many Many thanks PAUL BURNS.
Needless to say I'm Pissed Paul Is a Great guy'''

Last edited:
This is an incredibly sad story. The Canadians are great people. Always fun to chat with at the Super Shoot.

We have several Canadian shooters from Quebec and Ontario that shoot at our matches in St. Johnsbury. Two years ago, a Quebec shooter asked for and got a letter from me listing our schedule and "inviting" him to come and participate. He then crossed the border without a problem. This year, he told me he didn't need the letters because crossing wasn't a problem.

It's hard for me to discern any good from the "Patriot Act" and the whole "Homeland Security" debacle that can outweigh the idiocy that seems to prevail.

Reed

Amen on the homeland security comment. I'm still having trouble understanding why they have to pat down a 7-year-old girl at an airport. Or think of the 80 plus years old lady they did a strip search on!

Jerry