Preferred Reticle

Elisowski

I am very new to this sport as of January. I've been messing around with a CZ tacticool 22 lr and have a Bushnell Rimfire 6-18x scope with a fine crosshair reticle on it and having fun. It's ok at 50 yards but at 100 yards it is not strong enough for me.

I will also be messing around with 2 center fire rifles left to me. One is a 240 Gibbs and one is a 243.

I want to buy a good scope in the $1000-$1200 range that will Work for all 3 rifles. I've got the power of scope nailed down thanks to the "scope power" thread.

But, there are so many reticles to choose from.

Which reticle do you use and why?

You asked this on a BR forum, you have two principle choices. Guys shoot fine X hairs, guys shoot fine (1/8") dots. Takes your pick.

You asked this on a BR forum, you have two principle choices. Guys shoot fine X hairs, guys shoot fine (1/8") dots. Takes your pick.

I figured it was fine crosshairs. But I wasn't sure if the tick marks on the horizontal crosshair were used to help holding left or right when holding for the wind.

Lots of people on all kinds of forums say what scopes they are using, but never mention the reticle. Now I know why.

Thanks for your time.

Tim is right that the 2 he mentioned are used 99.9% of the time in BR shooting. I find that
the floating dot in my 36x Valdada scope with the hash marks helps me concentrate better
on the area of the target I'm shooting, (group shooting). I also use it in my Sightron 10x50
scope but that is for long range. I have been using a Weaver with my 22 rimfire BR gun but
may switch and see how that works out. Both Valdada and Sightron scopes are heavy so be-
ware if you need to make a certain weight.
Regards,

Joe McNeill
SW Arkansas