nightforce recticle ---HELP ME CHOOSE

btc624

I am currently torn in my decision on what recticle to get. this has been eating at me since January and I've yet to decide. Here's my dilema. I mainly plan on shooting at paper out to a max of 500yds (my range) but maybe 600 f-class some day. I also wouldnt mind this for shooting the occasional groundhog or steel at those same distances. I know i want the nxs model and leaning towards the np-r1 or the ch-3. If I decide on the ch-3 I believe I would get that in the 8-32 power and hope I wont run out of adjustment but at those ranges i doubt it correct??? As for the np-r1 I like the 1moa lines on the elevation and 2 moa on windage as opposed to the np-r2 (5 moa on the windage seems useless to me) I guess one more thing to add is that I will not use this scope for ranging as I will use a rangfinder or i'll be shooting at know distances so any advice will be greatly appreciated, I'm new to this and just dont want to make an $1800 mistake :confused: Heres the rifle I got to put it on.
MVC-001S.jpg

I believe in the simplest reticule that is heavy enough to be seen under all conditions that you'll shoot. I don't believe in using hash marks to aim off or aim up. Sooner or later you'll use one on the wrong side & really screw up. Learn to lay your aim off on the target or field topography.

While I haven't used it, I would be concerned that the ch3 might be a tad fine. I suggest that you have a real good look at the various reticules thru the scope of your choice before making up your mind. You might end uop choosing a reticule with hash marks on it anyway, but them's the breaks.

8-32 is about the perfect power range & travel for what you propose to shoot IMHO.

John

The CH-3 is a very fine DOT, I used one in F-Class on a 12-42 BR and went back to the 1/8 dot.

It's not an $1800 mistake, it's only about $175 to have the reticle changed by Nightforce, if that makes you feel any better.