Newbie needs help..6 or 6.6 Creedmoor

aaatkr

Newbie needs help..6 or 6.5 Creedmoor

Looking for a PVA John Hancock rifle in one of these two calibers. The rifle will be used primarily for informal target shooting from 100 to 600 yards, possibly a bit longer if I can get on my friends property. Primary use would be targets, occasional hunting. I like the fact the 6 has less recoil compared to the 6.5 and is a bit faster. I do not reload at this stage of the game. The availability of factory ammunition is greater for the 6.5 and barrel life seems to be 30 to 50 percent longer. Not a fan of the increased recoil though. If I shot 120 grain bullets with a brake would that tame recoil down to that of a 6mm with 105 hybrids( the round I would likely shoot with the 6mm) or would I be sacrificing some accuracy compared with the 140 Bergers more commonly used in the 6.5. The 6.5 is more adaptable to hunt with should I go in that direction. I have no experience with either caliber only owning .243 , 30-06 and rimfires. Should I go with the 6 and rebarrel as needed? I welcome your opinions. Thanks. The rifle will weigh 10 1/2 to 11 pounds complete. How does recoil compare to a .243 Win shooting 100 grain factory loads. Sorry if you've read this post before. I posted this on a couple of other sites. I just wanted as much info as I could get. Thanks.

Last edited:
I have a Savage Desert Tactical in 6mm Creedmoor. It's about 9.5 pounds with scope. Shooting Federal match ammo with 105 Bergers, I am pleased at how little recoil it has. I have no experience with the 6.5 Creedmoor but I shoot several rifles in .260 Remington and recoil is not bad, but I'd much rather shoot the 6. Recoil does add up over a long session.

I'm not sure where you get your barrel life figures, but I suspect they are somewhat subjective. It will differ depending on barrel steel, type of load etc. I wouldn't let that be a big factor in your decision.