New to reloading for rifle.

S

Slug Chucker

Hi All,
I’m new to both centre fire and centre fire reloading. I’m looking for a few pointers.

The rifle
Savage model 10 FLP Left Handed
24” barrel with a 1:9 twist
Rifle Basix SAV-2 trigger.
Ken Farrell G Force matched 30mm rings and base.
Millet tactical 4-16X scope BK81001
ASE Ultra CQB .223 suppressor
Choate left handed varmint stock
Pic of my rifle:
http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb37/SlugChucker/10FLP.jpg
Consumables available to me:
Case:
Lapua brass
Heads:
Hornady 75 Grain Amax
Hornady 60 Grain Vmax
Hornady 55 Grain Vmax
Hornady 55 Grain SPSX
Powders on Hand:
Hodgdon H4895
Hodgdon H335
Varget
VihtaVuori N135
Primers:
Winchester WSR

I’m looking for some good powerful accurate loads with the above combinations that won’t batter my cases with over pressure.
My current loads are:
Hornady 75 Grain Amax, 23.5 Grains of Varget, crony speed 2638 fps, SD 22.53 fps Groups within .5” at 100 yards
Hornady 60 Grain Vmax 25 Grains of H4895, crony speed 3052 fps, SD 16.23 fps
Groups within .5” at 100 yards, sometimes better if I do my part.

I’m particularly interested in developing the Amax loads as I feel they could a hell of a lot better than the current standard deviation I’m achieving.
Any suggestions, these loads are being developed for red fox shooting at long range.
Thanks,
Slug Chucker.

My first thought is you're in the wrong forum; you'll likely get more & better responses on the Factory/hybrid forum.

My second though is, do they really give trophies for lowest SD in Ireland?

But assuming you're shooting targets for score, I believe you can get Berger bullets in the UK -- Give the 64-grain match bullet a try. It may well outshoot everything else you've mentioned using a 9-twist Savage. H4895 is probably the preferred powder with that bullet, but as always, different barrels --especially factory barrels -- like different combinations.

60 Vmax is a good'n