New shooter needs advice

2rott

Hi everyone. Been lurking & just joined. I'm new to bench & rifle shooting. Been a pistol shooter for a long time.
I live near a range that has a 200 yd bench range. They practice once a week & have matches once every month or two. I have access to the 100yd range 6 days a week. I'm also a reloader, but so far only pistol rounds.
The good thing is that I only want to have fun & try something new because I'm pretty out classed in the equipment arena.
Just purchased an inexpensive rifle to get my feet wet. Dick's has a sale on a Rem. 700 ADL varmint in camo. It was $449.00 after the rebate, plus a gift cert. for another $16-17. I got a .223 with a 1-12 twist & 26" heavy barrel. It came with a 4-12 (no brand) 40mm scope. I just mounted & bore sighted it. At 4 power it's not too bad (or good), but at 10-12x it's hard to see well. I have to keep my eyes 1" from the scope to see a full view. If I move a drop I lose it. My vision is pretty good with glasses, so I think it's the scope. Plus the crosshair is pretty thick.
I'm planning on buying a new scope in the $250 to $400 range. I'm considering the Mueller 8-32x44 or the Weaver T36. Not sure what to get yet. Would a new scope be clearer & give me more eye relief? Any suggestions?
Next, I have to get some dies & other accessories. I'm going to have to figure a bullet & powder for reloading & start working up a load. I'll probably get some 50G bullets. A lot to do. I read all I can & stop by a few forums. I'll talk to the bench shooter's at my club also.

Happy your giving it a try .
The Scope is as important or more so then the rifle . If you can,t see it you can,t hit it .
You will get a lot of advice but all it really is is one persons option .
Shoot 50-=52-53gr bullets start slow and have fun .

If your plans for this rifle are stictly bench shooting go with the T36. For the price its one of the best deals going.