New Rem 30

Pete Wass

Can some please direct me to a print on the new Remington 30 Cal made on a shortened up 284 case please?

Thanks,

Pete Wass

Thank You for this.

As some may know, I have been campaigning a short 30-284 for several years. I have used Winchester brass all of this time without any problems at all. I won a half price reamer cirtificate last year at the Nats. I planned to have the chambering I have duplicated to some degree but, I have a nine step process to make my brass. My thinking was to jump on this chambering to eliminate a few steps.

I think the data on the velocities is that which is normal for autoloaders. they don't like HOT ammo, which I found out with my .280- 742 Rem.

I have been shooting 110 to 125 bullets in mine @ around 3000 without pressure and with great accuracy. It's favorite powder has been 4197 Brigadeer. I shot about 20 lbs of it during those years. 4198 works as does Re-7 and I'm sure N-130. It's a great round! Turning the rim is a minor inconvenience :)

Confused

Pete,

This artical has the RIM at .473 which is wrong - its .492 won't fit 308 bolt face and must be turned down.

Also it list it as having a large primer which is also wrong - it hase a small primer.

Jerry :eek::D

What's with the 0.019" rim difference, when I look at .284 Win drawings I'm seeing a rebated .473 rim; is that incorrect? What is the source of brass for a small primer pocket on .284 Win case? nhk

Pete - I have chambered up the 30 RAR with the sholder angle set to 35 degrees. I did this to get the 45 gn of water to be able to use it in Hunter Class Score.

I did buy the Rem Ammo to get the cases and since the case needs to be fire formed I just used the Powder and bullets to do this - no waste -

I have been using 8208 XBR, 125gn burgers, and it is giving a 3000 fps with no pressure and like you said it is very accurate.

Jerry :)