Gunsmith Lathe?

The one item I really want on my lathe is a footbrake. I think the 16x40 is larger than you need but the smaller lathe doesn't have the brake. I've been using a Grizzly Toolroom 13x40 for a few years and like it better each day. It's my second Grizzly lathe. If Grizzly makes/sells it you will get a good product and service with one provision: allow for crappy Chinese motors even though I've had no problems with the two I've owned but they may be Taiwanese for all I know.

Justin,

Either one of these lathes would be suitable for personal gun projects. Personally, for the price difference (if you need to ask for advice) I'd go for the cheaper model and put the price differential into a good vertical mill. Note that the bigger machine requires 3 phase power, which might be a problem for personal use. You can buy phase converters to get around this power issue, but you might want to walk before you run.

Scott

Thanks guys! your comments are really appreciated. What do you suggest for a mill.

Thanks guys! your comments are really appreciated. What do you suggest for a mill.
Unless you're planning on building rail guns or trying to flute barrels you won't need one of the larger mills. In fact, I've considered buying a mill/drill solely for cleaning up bedding and such. A mill/drill will do 90% of what I normally do but on the other hand, you can do it all on a 9x42 table on a knee mill and only spend another $1500 or so.

Tooling and such is a large item. Believe me, the cheap brazed carbide tools are not a good way to go. If you get a knee mill consider a power table feed. Again, Grizzly is a good route to take.

grizzly is nice, but

they never have any gunsmith lathes in stock-after many attempts to get a straight answer on a delivery date---(Three different calls three different answers ! all on the same day) I even e-mailed the owner who said he would get back to me but never did! I bought a jet it just isnt worth the hassle!

Grizzley lathes