Glues for Gluing actions to stocks

ned kelly

G'day all,
I'm reasonably proficient at bedding actions, but I've never glued an action to a stock, not even accidentally!
I've assumed you do a regular bedding job (I'm going to do my LBRP Stolle Panda and a BAT DS RB RP Reject into new stocks) then rough it up a bit and then glue it in.
Any advice you all could offer would be greatly appreciated and any info on the bedding job that helps to do a glue in easier. would also be great.
Also preferred glues that everyone uses. If it exists, I'd also like a glue that can allow for easy removal (I'm self-taught stock maker, so want to trial different designs every now and then)
I use Devcon for bedding and make my own pillars etc to suit my stocks (as you do).
Many thanks for any help.
Regards Geoff W
Victoria, Australia

G'day all,
I'm reasonably proficient at bedding actions, but I've never glued an action to a stock, not even accidentally!
I've assumed you do a regular bedding job (I'm going to do my LBRP Stolle Panda and a BAT DS RB RP Reject into new stocks) then rough it up a bit and then glue it in.
Any advice you all could offer would be greatly appreciated and any info on the bedding job that helps to do a glue in easier. would also be great.
Also preferred glues that everyone uses. If it exists, I'd also like a glue that can allow for easy removal (I'm self-taught stock maker, so want to trial different designs every now and then)
I use Devcon for bedding and make my own pillars etc to suit my stocks (as you do).
Many thanks for any help.
Regards Geoff W
Victoria, Australia

JB Weld - I actually paint a thin coat in with a small art paint brush. (You can get it at Bunnings or Mitre 10)
It is black in colour, so might not suit some of your nice timber stocks, unless you are hiding the glue line.

As long as you clean the action properly it won’t be coming out unless you heat it.