Front rest advice

Chomondely3

I am upgrading my Caldwell “ The Rock” bench rest.
I will be shooting a 6.5 CM out to 600 yds off a concrete bench. The rifle will weigh about 13.5 lbs.
The stock will have a Varmint style fore end about 2 inches wide with a flat bottom.
I am not shooting competitively, so I have time to reposition the rifle. I am shooting for fun, shooting for small groups rather than score.
I am thinking about a Sinclair Heavy Varmint Rest.
My budget is about $500, not including bags.

Questions:
Do I need a windage adjustable top?
What other rests should I consider given my budget?
What bags do you recommend?
Is there a good article about setting up a rest and bags?

As you can see, I am new to the bench rest world, so thanks in advance for your thoughts and advice.

There are several options. You can do a search for Bald Eagle rifle rest, and look at those at Grizzly Industrial. You can also search Hart rifle rest, and Sinclair rifle rest. For the money I think that it would be hard to beat one of these.
https://www.sinclairintl.com/shooti...s/sinclair-heavy-varmint-rests-prod57001.aspx
I like a windage tops, and would not order a rest without one. I would suggest a rear bag by Protektor Model about suitable bags.

https://protektormodel.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=1

Hokayyyy...... opinion time.

600yds...

IF you've a gun that shoots you'll find that groups at 600yds are all about getting 5 into the same wind/bump/lift/boil/gremlin condition.

You procure a rifle that really CAN shoot 3/4" at 600yds and you'll learn the Butterfly Effect is real.......

There's about 9 people on the planet who when they talk about "reading the wind" at 600/1000 I lissen. IMO 99.9% of all people who think they can read the wind at 600 are either delusional one, or ........ they lie to their wife too.

I'm not one of them. I have 600yds off a 20ton bench IN MY YARD, and I can't read the wind.

SOOooooo......