Bullet Making (originally owned by Stephen Perry)

BR Bullet Making

Anybody out there got into making benchrest quality bullets in the last year or two.

Like to hear your bullet making experience in your first year or two of bullet making. If you have any questions ask them here there are plenty of bullet makers on BR Central. I have been making 22 and 6 bullets for the last 10 years.

Stephen Perry
Angeles BR

Last edited by a moderator:
Br

Yes we need more' I know at least one more shooter that has said he will be making bullets in the future.
Ive been making them for a while.

I believe "Redrock" from South Dakota is getting into bullet making, at least he had thought about it last I heard.

Paul

I am taking the plunge, I am waiting on my dies. I can say that I thought turning necks was not as much fun as I thought it would be, cutting 5,900 cores for a 30 cal has to be the biggest PITA in the world. My joint on my right thumb swelled to twice it's size, I was popping pain pills like candy, I lost all mobility in my right hand for a number of days and I still have 2 50# coils of lead to cut. All I can say is that, core cutting sucks.

The reason I'm getting into making bullets is it seems just when I get something working, I can't get any more bullets, so I'm going to start making them for myself. I can't imagine how Lowell manages his one man operation and all the orders he fills.

Dan Honert

The reason I'm getting into making bullets is it seems just when I get something working, I can't get any more bullets, so I'm going to start making them for myself. I can't imagine how Lowell manages his one man operation and all the orders he fills.

Yes, yes, yes and yes...

cale

My joint on my right thumb swelled to twice it's size, I was popping pain pills like candy, I lost all mobility in my right hand for a number of days and I still have 2 50# coils of lead to cut. All I can say is that, core cutting sucks.
Dan Honert

Ah !