Brass for .221 Fireball & 222 Rem

Joe Entrekin

I'm waiting on a couple of rifles to arrive in the subject calibers. Would greatly appreciate recommendations as to which brass is best for each caliber & best place to get it. I know this isn't a benchrest question, but sorta remember some past threads about these calibers on this forum. Posted it to the factory & hybrid forum also.Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

For the .222 you have a limited number of choices.
R-P
Norma
RWS
WW
Federal

The Norma may be good, but costs $80+ per hundred, the R-P and WW are about $25 per hundred. People talk highly about the RWS, but I have no experience with it. I use the WW. It is pretty good especially if you are not setting the world on fire and are on a budget.

Good luck, Peter.

I am hoping that the advent of the new 17 Fireball will help the brass situation. You could easily neck the 17 up to 20 or 22, I think.

I'm waiting on a couple of rifles to arrive in the subject calibers. Would greatly appreciate recommendations as to which brass is best for each caliber & best place to get it. I know this isn't a benchrest question, but sorta remember some past threads about these calibers on this forum. Posted it to the factory & hybrid forum also.Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

I use Lapua .222 brass for both the 221 fb and the .222
I just take 222 lapua brass,run it through a .221 fl sizing die and trim to length.
The RWS brass is very good,it is a bit harder that norma and lapua.
n-120 and AA-1680 has no peers in the .221 fireball.

Roger, have you tried Lil' Gun powder in the 221? Looks good in the charts. It has turned out to be absolutely the best powder in my K-Hornet with 40 V-max.

Rws?

Guys please!
Where can you buy 222 Rem cases from RWS?

//Rolf

221 fireball