Bench set up or technique problem?

10ring

I'm very new to benchrest shooting and noticed something that doesn't seem right but I don't know how to fix it.

After I align front rest and rear bag with the target I place the rifle in the bags and moderately pound the rear of the stock into the rear bag. Then I get behind the rifle and do some fine tuning to line up the rifle with the target. I slide the rifle back and forth a few times looking for up and down tracking and end up with the front of the stock touching the stop post. Here's where it gets weird. If I dry fire in this position the crosshair jumps up about 3/10 moa and stays there. If I slide the rifle back and forth stopping at the stop post the crosshair is on target. Pull the trigger to dry fire and the crosshair jumps up again.

What is allowing the rifle to move slightly when the trigger is pulled.

I slide the rifle back and forth a few times looking for up and down tracking and end up with the front of the stock touching the stop post. Here's where it gets weird. If I dry fire in this position the crosshair jumps up about 3/10 moa and stays there. If I slide the rifle back and forth stopping at the stop post the crosshair is on target. Pull the trigger to dry fire and the crosshair jumps up again.

What is allowing the rifle to move slightly when the trigger is pulled.

I'm not an expert, but I'll take a shot at this. Your rifle is probably moving backwards when you dry fire. (Any backward movement will raise the crosshair.) If so, why is it moving backward? Maybe your trigger pull is enough to cause that. Are you using a 2 oz trigger? If so, are you barely touching it when you dry fire?

Alternatively, maybe the sudden extension of the firing pin spring exerts enough force on the stop post to cause the rifle to recoil?

Regardless, see if the rifle moved away from the stop post after you dry fire.

Last edited:
Bags?