BAT 25 Degree Cone Depth

How deep is the 25 degree cone from the edge of a 6BR chamber?

Joe,

I'm not a pro gunsmith but have done a number of BATs and others that have the cone bolt. I've found that it is rather easy to thread the shank and then do the cone in the barrel but hold it obviously shallow. I then screw the receiver on, with the bolt closed, and allow the bolt face to touch the cone. At that time, I measure the space between the receiver and the shoulder on the barrel. That distance plus about .005 is how much more I must remove from the cone.
I have a dial indicator setup to show where the carriage was when I made the cut before trying the receiver/bolt.
Harder to describe than it is to do, I think.

There was an article in PS a few years ago on making tooling that allowed one to establish cone depth but I never saw a reason to go to that extreme.

Jay, Idaho

Butch

Without having to dodge barbs from a few action makers, I would give this advice. Treat every action as an individule.

I have been doing quite a few Pandas as of late, and while they are pretty close, I did one a few weeks back that was at least .008 different than some previous.

Also, I built myself a new Rifle a while back, and I finally set the bolt up and re-cut the cone to match the one on a similiar action. At least .010 difference.

But this bares repeating. There is only one reason to keep the cone clearance as close as possible without causing any problems. That is to avoid uncovering the solid portion of the case web, which is pretty close in the BR and PPC Case.

Some actions can have quite a bit of cone clearance and still the case supported. Both of my Stiiler Actions have a shallow enough counter bore that what seems like a lot of cone clearance is of no concern. The Farleys, though, have the bolt nose ending at just about the front of the extractor groove, just when you give it about .005, there is already some of the case exposed.