Barrell length/velocity relationship?

J

Jerry

Is there a relationship between muzzle velocity & barrel length, all other things being equal? Will muzzle velocity for a 24 inch barrel vs. a 30 inch barrel be different or the same?

Then, I wonder why I can only get to about 82% of measured velocity with my new longer custom barrel at a 15% decreased powder charge before seeing ejector marks on my brass. If you don't mind, let me include the distance of bullet to lands possibly part of the problem.... I'm at 0.069 from bullet ogive to barrel. I'm rather new to handloading so maybe I should drop the bullet back farther?

Your case capacity

Then, I wonder why I can only get to about 82% of measured velocity with my new longer custom barrel at a 15% decreased powder charge before seeing ejector marks on my brass. If you don't mind, let me include the distance of bullet to lands possibly part of the problem.... I'm at 0.069 from bullet ogive to barrel. I'm rather new to handloading so maybe I should drop the bullet back farther?

Gives up. You can't get enough powder in to take advantage of the long tube perhaps. What case are you shooting?

300 WM. I'm only at a 50 gr charge where as the book says starting charge is 66.5. I'm no where near max volume

Last edited by a moderator:
A very curious reply.........tell me Al, what are your listed strictures ???:rolleyes:

I didn't list any UncleB :rolleyes: I think you've entered the wrong reality??

My reply isn't "curious" in any way, no need for interpretation.

Said Alice

al

With that big case

too many variables, and not much listed.
i would guess the powder you are using is too fast....
powder, bullet, oal chambers info....

signs of press with no velocity..sounds like a pressure issue or a 7mm bbl...

That may be an issue. A case like that should be at its best with very slow burning powders.

300 WM. I'm only at a 50 gr charge where as the book says starting charge is 66.5. I'm no where near max volume