Barrel Indexing

cortezit

I have been reading the thimble and barrel indexing that some of the shooters are doing. I am new to the sport and want to know how one goes about indexing a barrel if the gun is set up for the thimble and barrel arrangement. Is there a step by step "boiler plate go-by" for this procedure and if so where would I find it?

Tom D.

Tom:

My experience has been that Barrel indexing works when the barrel is not straight or when the external surface of the barrel is not uniform...With indexing you are actually artificially balancing imperfections and unbalances in the barrel. When a barrel is straight and uniform, you can rotate it as much as you want and it will shoot the same...

I see barrel indexing as starting a formula 1 race with a patched tire, it is OK but it is not the best way to race since you are much better off starting with a new good tire and with this I mean that I believe that the efforts should be put in getting a good straight uniform barrel to start with...To me indexing is just an attempt to improve a mediocre barrel.

Best regards,

AZ

A different opinion. No barrel has a perfectly straight bore. You can see this easily by rotating a barrel while using the same POA. The curvature of the bore also influences the vibration patterns of each barrel. This is not to say that all barrels are the same. Some exhibit a great deal of bore curvature. Some barrels simply shoot better. Indexing is what brings out the full potential of a barrel. How much difference is hard to say until you actually go through the process with your barrel.

Barrel indexing