6PPC and 30BR using the same receiver/bolt

T

tatco

Being brand new to this sport I'm trying to get as much information as I can before I get my first gun. That said. How many out there switch barrels using the same action/bolt to shoot 6PPC and 30BR? I've seen some advertised on "The List" and have talked to a couple of guys. Seems doable but what do you give up in terms of accuracy and or precision? My reason for asking is as I gain more knowledge both group and score appeal to me. Your opinons appreciated. If this has been asked before just point me to the thread. Thanks.

I have not seen this done before. The bolt face on a 6ppc is smaller than the 30BR for this to work the bolt face would half to be opened up to accept the bigger case. Unless your thinking 6BR instead of a 6ppc. A 30BR is a 6BR necked up this will work and you want give up accuracy but it can be a little agravating. If you have not changed barrels before this may not be the way to go. I am fairly new to this sport also and most of the guys I have shot with that has been in it for a long time shoot differnt guns for score and group. Some just stick with 1 for both.

Given a well balanced, well tuned, and good shooting rifle, with both barrels, most people still shoot the two differently. Most ppc shooters shoot totally free-recoil. Most 30 shooters shoot with some degree of hold or pinning of the rifle. Both will shoot, you just have to learn how to shoot it either way and let the gun tell you what it wants as it is. If you can find a setup that works for you with both, that's GREAT!
As for the bolt face issue.. it's been covered here several times. You either shoot a 30 that already utilizes a ppc rim diameter, open the bolt face, or you turn the rims to fit the ppc bolt. I shoot a cartridge that fits the bolt, and am happy with it. --Mike

Last edited: