11 degree crown w/40 degree recess

6mmdasher

I see some BR guns with 11 degree crowns with a 40 degree recess into the lands and some without the 40 degree recess. Is one better and what is the reason of the 40 degree recess?

Thank You in advance

Do a search, as this has been hashed and rehashed many times. It don't matter as long as you have a clean sharp crown.
Butch

Search no help

I see the comment of "do a search" often and understand why. BUT, search is often not helpful. So, just for grins, I did a search on "40 degree recess" which is what 6mmdasher asked about. I got ten threads with the words recess and degree in them but nothing that addressed the question he is asking.

I try to search so as to avoid the "do a search dummy" retort when I ask a question but the search tool is just not that good.

Recess

The only function that a recess has on the crown of a Benchrest Rifle is to perhaps protect it in the event you drop the Rifle and it lands muzzle first......jackie

I see some BR guns with 11 degree crowns with a 40 degree recess into the lands and some without the 40 degree recess. Is one better and what is the reason of the 40 degree recess?

Thank You in advance

On BR Rifles I've used 90 degree straight crowns with no chamfer and on Hunting / Tactical / Field Style Rifles I've used 11 degree and a USMC style crowns with a 90 degree flat .090” deep with a 45 degree pull back and a 60 degree chamfer. These shot equally well.

With crowns, all that matters is that they are perpendicular to the bore and free of burrs. They all work. There are no special or magical crowns.

adamsgt

You're not using the search function correctly. I got 40 hits using "recessed + crown". Try coupling all of the words.

Ray

Its not clear to me what 6mmdasher is asking. Saying that the 40
degree recess is into the lands, imply's a chamfer as on a 40X. The
40 degree recess doesn't normally meet the lands. Some people cut